Gluten is a general name given to a protein which is found in wheat, barley, and rye. These grains are processed and they are used as starches and binders to maintain the elastic property of the food materials. Gluten is found in medicines, lip care balms, and vitamins.
Sensitivity towards Gluten
The common symptoms of a person who are allergic towards gluten include diarrhea, cramping, swelling in the abdominal area, gas, constipation, and anemia. The disease which is caused due to gluten sensitivity is referred as celiac disease and the autoimmune disease also has the same symptoms. One of the other symptom is a rash called “dermatitis herpetiformis” which may arise in your elbows, knees, and buttocks affects about 15% to 25% of people with celiac disease.
Care while you eat
The best way to live gluten free is to avoid the foods which contain gluten materials. It helps you to lose weight to an extent but it doesn’t mean that you are calorie free. Maintaining a healthy diet chart which includes fruits and vegetables with all the nutrients in right proportion will be great. An advice from your doctor or a dietitian will also help you to keep away from gluten free disease.
Check your blood for celiac disease
With a simple blood test, it is possible to find out whether the person has celiac disease or not. The blood test looks for certain proteins present in the blood. If you have avoided the gluten from your food already, it is necessary to eat gluten rich foods before testing. If the blood test is positive, the doctors shall confirm it by endoscopic biopsy which means taking a small sample of the small intestine.
Quinoa is grain crop which is found in Andes Mountains is a nutritious food which is gluten- free. It contains high levels of amino acids and proteins. It can be used as an alternative to grain. It can be cooked like rice or couscous or ground into flour. We may also get some pastas made of quinoa from markets.
Identifying the foods
We can identify the gluten free foods just by reading the labels in them. And if you have doubts ask to the shop keepers and try to avoid those foods. It can be done especially when you buy bread or sauce (cream sauce). But it is not possible to find the gluten contained food when it is cooked. It can be done only when it is cooked plain with vegetables, meats and fish.
Alcohol and Gluten
Most of the distilled spirits like wine and hard liquor contain no gluten. But there are some wine coolers and bottled mixed-liquor drinks have some ingredients of gluten. Beers are made from gluten grains, but there are also gluten-free beers on the market.
Good choice of Breakfast
It is always best to choose a gluten-free breakfast like grits which is made from corn. Say no to pancakes and regular bagels made from wheat flour which contain gluten materials. If it is gluten-free bread then you can add them in your breakfast.
Think while you shop
It is always best to fill your cart with fruits and vegetables while you shop as they are gluten-free. Avoid frozen foods like meats, snacks, and cereals which contain gluten. Select the super markets which contain a healthy food section of cookies, cereals, bread, and even frozen prepared foods. Talk to your store manager to get the food items free from gluten.
Parent’s thoughts vs. Researches
Some parents believe in the case that a child’s behavior gets better when they intake gluten-free diet but no research has proved it. One study has showed that there was no change in the sleep or behavior in children affected with autism spectrum disorders while putting them gluten-free and casein-free.
Keep away from Oats
Recent studies show that oats contain a small proportion of gluten grain during processing. The persons with celiac disease may tolerate it to a small extent if and only it is “pure”. So it is always better to check with your doctor or dietitian.
Most of the snacks which are made from wheat are gluten rich but there are also snacks like gluten-free pretzels brands. Snacks made from corns like tortilla chips, rice cakes, some potato chips, and popcorns are gluten-free. But make sure to read the label.
Duty of the Manufacturers
It is not enforced to list gluten on the label but only wheat by the manufacturer. They change their ingredients often so it is better to check the label to find whether any gluten materials are found in the product. Gluten is mostly found in barley, rye, triticale, malt, malt flavoring, malt vinegar, and more. If necessary check the food manufacturer’s website for gluten-free food.
Take care of your Toaster
Some persons are intolerant to even small pieces of gluten in their diet. So it is important to keep your appliances clean and gluten-free. Avoid using the same toaster for the regular bread toast and gluten-free toast.
Choice of the Restaurant
It is always best to choose the plain foods which are gluten-free. Don’t feel shy to ask questions about your food ingredients. Keep away from breading or sauces made of flour. Avoid deep-fried foods. Ask for the gluten-free menu.
Materials for gluten-free diet
Brown rice flour is best to bake foods as they are gluten-free. Other than that corn meal, bean, and potato flour are also widely used.